Navigate quickly

Seychelles Islands

Select Language

JoomFish language selector

Plan your trip

Plan your trip by car/taxiPlan your trip by busPlan your trip by trainPlan your trip by plane

Useful tips

Medical tipsMoney tipsSightseeing tipsFood tips

Torrential rain shower Weather

16 January


The Republic of Seychelles has a multi-party political system with an executive President as head of state and government. The President heads a Cabinet of 13 ministers which includes the Vice-President.

In April 2004, Mr. James Alix Michel replaced Mr. France Albert René as President after Mr. René had been in office since 1977. The Vice President is currently Mr. Danny Faure. The designated Minister is Mr Vincent Meriton, who is currently the Minister for Community Development, Social Affairs and Sports.


Legislative power is vested in a National Assembly of 32 members of whom 25 are elected directly in constituencies with the balance on proportional basis based on the results of the National Assembly elections.

Parti Lepep, The People’s Party, previously known as the Seychelles People’s Progressive Front (SPPF), currently led by President Michel, holds 31 seats in the Assembly.

The Popular Democratic Movement (PDM), headed by Mr David Pierre, holds one seat in the Assembly.


The other main political parties (not currently represented in the National Assembly) are the Seychelles National Party (SNP) headed by Rev. Wavel Ramkalawan and the Seselwa United Party (SUP), headed by Mr. Ralph Volcere.

The Republic of Seychelles is a member of the United Nations, the African Union, the Commonwealth and La Francophonie. It has embassies in Paris, New York, Brussels,Addis Ababa, Abu Dhabi, New Delhi, Beijing, Pretoria and London as well as numerous honorary consulates worldwide.